Skip to content

kathmandu culture

September 7, 2007

So to answer the food questions i am eating tons and tons of dhaal bhaat–rice with this lentil curry stuff. i can come in many flavor and is without a doubt the national dish of nepal. unfortunately while it is delicious, for a non-nepali it is really really filling…and impossible to eat with ones hands.  Besides dhaal bhaat my mom makes me lots of ‘tatos (fried, steamed, spicily seasoned etc) and various green veggies. Last night we also had delicious biryani, which tasted unlike any biryani i have ever had!

Nepal is full of rabid animals. apparently thats the ONE vaccination i actually needed for nepal and of course do not have. the $350 malaria pills, dont need ’em. Japanese encephilitus vaccine? they havent had a case in nepal. ever. but rabid dogs and monkeys (!!!) are everywhere. unfortunately due to the fact that we’re heading to darjeeing this coming thursday for 10 days i have to wait until i get back to begin getting my series of 3 shots. so im just gonna pray i dont annoy any rabid monkeys or dogs in the meantime!

i didnt bring my connecting cable for my digital camera so ill have to scheme out a way to upload pictures but it shouldnt be too tricky.

my sister and her husband are taking me to some sort of snazzy jazz club tomorrow night and later on this afternoon we have a filming of “On the Road with the Red God Machinderath” (sp?) and then a discussion with the man who made it. should be excellent!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kermit permalink
    September 7, 2007 6:47 pm

    hey lonely planet says that if you get stopped by the Maoists & have to pay them money you should obtain a receipt. Oh that just cracks me up. I’m sending you a letter today & i’d be very curious to know how long it takes to arrive. cheers, mike

  2. Willow permalink
    September 7, 2007 8:34 pm

    The food sounds pretty good! That is, if you like lentils, which I do.

    Yeah, I heard when I was in Delhi that some of the monkeys are rabid. Be careful! That’s pretty gross.

    Does your computer have bluetooth? If it does you might be able to send pictures via bluetooth (at least from your phone-this is how I always upload pictures from my phone). Another option is if you can buy a card that your camera memory card fits in that is a converter to your computer (i.e. fits in one of the slots on the side, like the network card spot), that could work too. Does anyone else have one you can borrow? I want to see pics!

    Thanks again for the birthday call. I loved it.

  3. September 9, 2007 1:10 am

    This blog is so appropriately titled! Your voice plays in my head as I read it, and it sounds like the experience of a lifetime. I am intrigued by how safe you claim it is, yet you have been warned against rabid animals and delayed by bus bombings!?!?! girl you best be careful… but i am sure you will be fine.

    You make studying abroad in Europe seem boring (that’s a compliment!). Can’t wait for a reunion in January!

  4. September 9, 2007 1:12 am

    oh and forgot to add that your family seems extremely cool!

    welcome to my bookmarks

  5. Jenny permalink
    September 10, 2007 11:14 am

    Sarah! found your blog!
    if your computer has a card reader, you can just stick your SD in there!

  6. Boris permalink
    September 11, 2007 8:26 pm

    What I do to upload my pictures is simply to shake the camera vigorously until all the pictures fall out, hopefully onto, or into, your computer. I hope that helps because I wanna see pictures too!

  7. Anonymous permalink
    October 16, 2007 11:53 pm

    dear sarah, i finally got to read your blog, and though i doubt it’s at all a worry now, i just learned from the latest episode of the office that you can get rabies vaccinations AFTER being bitten by a possibly rabid creature. no worries. you are safe.

  8. Andrew Kei Froug permalink
    October 16, 2007 11:54 pm

    Sorry, that last comment was by Andrew. From Santa Rosa. One love.

Leave a Reply

