Skip to content

winning

September 25, 2007

Firstly PRASHANT WON INDIAN IDOL!!! Sunday night I cooked a big pasta feast w/home made tomato sauce for my family to celebrate the Indian Idol Finale. It went great, largely due to the fact that i live five minutes from the best grocery store in the country. Apparently on Saturday the nepali cell phone companies somehow made it so that nepalis could send texts to india that would be counted in the indian idol vote, just my cousin sent in 250 votes. The total votes cast in indian idol…70 MILLION!! So at 6pm one of my nepali uncles called, apparently he was at the live recording of the finale and he said Prashant had won! I couldnt truly believe it though so decided to watch the finale with my family …which turned out to be nearly FOUR HOURS LONG and ended around 1am. it was pretty insane. lots of famous Hindi singers wearing some pretty spectacular outfits. Needless to say i was greatly relieved when i saw the official announcement. Fireworks went off in my neighborhood and people danced in the streets. one fellow also decided to drive his car up and down the alley honking and screaming “praaaaassshhaaannntt” late into the night. Luckily i am an ear plug devotee so i slept better than the rest of my family.

Below is one of my favorite moments from the trip so far, standing atop a hll covered in a prayer flag jungle in Pharping during the first week. Below me in the hill are the caved in which Guru Rimponche achieved enlightenment. The view is of the nepali countryside. When you look at it you realize that Nepal is not a poor landlocked country, but an underutlized, landlinked, vibrant place. nepali hills are one of my favorite places in the entire worldview from prayer flag hill in Pharping

in other news i am officially doing my Independent Study Project on the roles of artists in development here in kathmandu. One of my teachers wives runs a nonprofit called Crafted in Kathmandu and can hook me up with lots and lots of local artists as well as NGOs involved in both development and the arts. Im still fleshing it out a bit but I am incredibly excited to start interviews and research and all that jazz!

in about fifteen minutes a group of my fellow SIT students and I are gong to go get tickets to this saturday’s Prashant concert… a jolly time will undoubtedly be had by all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Willow permalink
    September 28, 2007 5:49 am

    The countryside looks incredible. Are those wheat or corn fields down below? And you look so happy to be there. Amazing!

    Do you have any ideas of what kinds of artists you’re going to focus on? Painters, photographers, sculptors, craftspeople (do they count as artists?), or all of the above? I immediately see two interesting directions. One is art and the economy-arts and crafts, the markets they’re sold in, the access to the professions, and how this plays a role in Nepali development. And a very different way of looking at it would be art and peoples’ understanding of Nepal and Nepal’s development. This might be film, writing, other art that reflects and influences the way people understand development in Nepal.

    Or maybe you’ve got entirely different directions you’re taking it in! I was just fascinated as I started trying to imagine where you’ll go with it.

    Back to my schoolwork back here in San Francisco. It’s keeping me busier than ever!

    Wil

  2. Jenny permalink
    September 30, 2007 11:00 pm

    Sarah-dear, you look wonderful! keep on having fabulous adventures so i can live vicariously through you!

  3. Andrew Kei Froug permalink
    October 17, 2007 12:01 am

    The part about the driver shouting “prashant” up and down the street made me spit up a bit in sudden laughter. I was very glad to hear that he won. I feel like I won along with him and all the Nepalese people.

  4. Emily permalink
    November 8, 2007 10:09 pm

    That is so exciting about Prashant! YAYYY! It was very suspenseful for me to wait for your next blog to announce the winner. That’s amazing the support and the significance that surrounds Indian Idol and a Nepalises’ participance. You just wouldn’t naturally think that a pop-culture program could channel such weighty politial issues, but I think that’s a good thing as it becomes a playful way to address those problems.
    Anyway, keep up the interestingness of your blogs– they’re very engaging to read!

  5. January 27, 2008 3:29 am

    Dear BeyondMountain,

    Your bolg is wonderful to read/see.

    Can you write about your visit to Nepal, its hills and Tihar you spent for http://www.usnepalonline.com?

    Please write us at: feedback@usnepalonline.com
    Helow: 551-358-7726 (Jersey City, NJ)

Leave a Reply

