Skip to content

Down From The Mountain

October 17, 2007

So i have just arrived in Naamche bazaar after trekking down from my village. Yesterday as me and my pal mark were walking back to our village from Khumjung it began to snow and then to blizzard. Probably the coldest ive ever been in my entire life. But as we reached our village the skies cleared and the mountains that surround our little shangri-la valley were finally completely visible. One of the most beautiful and silent and powerful sights i have ever seen. Until that moment, looking at Aama Dablam (my favorite mountain), i have never had the least desire to climb a mountain. But they just looked so amazingly appealing in the golden sunset light.

When I returned home my brother Tenzing was playing with homemade skis and frolicking in the snow. I alread miss my sherpa family very very very much. Tenzing gave me a necklace last night that he’d made so that i wouldnt forget him. This morning my aamaa told me that he loves me and will miss me very much because i am his only sister. Below are some pictures of my village (Kunde) and my family.

my nine year old brother Mingma-Tenzing Sherpa and his best friend Naamche

Mingma-Tenzing with his best pal Naamche

Me and Tenzing and my aamaa Ang-Pasang Sherpa.

my sherpa family

tomorrow morning im trekking back to Phakding my myself and my porter pal and then the next day to Lukla to catch a flight to Kathmandu on the 20th.

I have promised my Sherpa family ill come back with my family but I cant imagine even going an entire year away from Kunde. While I wont miss being freezing cold every single waking second Ill miss my family a great deal (especially dancing and playing with Tenzing) and yak cheese and yaks and wild ponies and hot days climbing small mountains to look at larger ones and sunny days that suddenly become blizzards and Ill most definately pine for my daily dose of Everest Bakery’s astoundingly delicious Apple Pie. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah B permalink
    October 17, 2007 4:57 pm

    Hi Sarah,

    I love your description of your adventures in Kunde. I really can’t believe I will be there in a month. I have goosebumps.

    I don’t know if your mom told you, but I fly into Kathmandu on the 12th from Bangkok (I believe I get in about noon). My travel partner has since cancelled so I will be traveling solo until I meet our tour on the 13th. Will you be around? It would be great to have someone show me the sights.

    I believe I will be back in Kathmandu from the trek on December 6th & will have some free time then.

    I hope it works out!

    Sarah
    707 799-3136
    shbweber@yahoo.com

    PS thanks for the Nepali language tapes. My friend about killed me when I made him listen to them on our way to the movies 🙂

  2. Willow permalink
    October 22, 2007 3:49 am

    Wow, I love your description of your family. The Nepali sound like such warm and lovely people!

    Your mom did it! She was amazing walking across that finish line. I am so impressed and inspired. What an amazing accomplishment! I’ve got some really nice photos, including one of her on the phone with you, which I’ll send along soon.

    H and I got our own workout too. I convinced her it would be a good idea to take BART with bikes and then bike to Lake Merced to meet your mom. That part worked out great, but then we wound up walking the rest of the marathon with your mom (from Mile 20 until the end) and then having to ride back to BART. In total I calculated we did a little “duathlon” of our own–6.5 miles walked and about 8 biked! 🙂

    Perhaps we’re all ready for some mountain climbing 😉

    Much love,
    Wil

  3. October 22, 2007 6:04 pm

    Hello,

    Just received the link to your site from Morgan Pettis here in Seattle. I am planning a 5 week journey through India at the moment and plan to be there from December-January.

    Your posts are great and it’ll be great to get some insight to your trip…hopefully it will help with planning mine. If you have any advice, I’d surely appreciate it.

    All the Best,
    Vikrant

Leave a Reply

